Mark Butterworth

Born in London but now living in Chelmsford, Essex, Mark worked for over 30 years in the City of London before becoming a full time writer.  After having two business books published, Mark's debut historical fiction, The Pearl River, was published in February 2023.  This story of action, intrigue and a touch of romance is set in Singapore and Hong Kong in 1948/49.  His second novel, The Berlin Assignment, a Cold war thriller, was published on 28 February 2024 and he is currently writing the third in what has become known as the Adam Devon series. Mark held a private pilot's licence for 15 years and has flown a two-seater Spitfire. He enjoys golf, travel and salsa dancing, has two grown-up daughters and a very lively Springer Spaniel.

Mark Butterworth's Books

ISBN: 9781916668263


The Berlin Assignment

28 Feb 2024

In the perilous atmosphere of the Cold War, Adam Devon, a civilian pilot, becomes unwittingly embroiled in an MI6 covert operation to extract a Russian missile scientist from Berlin. But there are traitors in the British Establishment passing information to the Russians and as the assignment starts to go wrong Devon becomes trapped in East Germany.

Hannah, Devon’s fiancée and one-time agent for the Israeli Secret Service, leads the mission to rescue him and the rest of the team. However, her best chance of success lies in the hands of the unscrupulous Henry Fitzjohn, a British MP and old RAF rival of Devon’s, who had once sought a relationship with her.

In a race to unmask the traitor and rescue Devon, loyalties are tested and unexpected alliances form. In a world where secrets are currency and danger is ever-present, will love and resilience prevail against all odds?


Born in London and now living in Essex, Mark Butterworth worked in the City of London before becoming a full-time writer. Mark held a private pilot’s licence for fifteen years and has made more than fifty parachute jumps. Mark enjoys running, golf and salsa dancing, has two grown up daughters and a Springer Spaniel called Arthur. The Berlin Assignment is a sequel to The Pearl River, Mark’s debut novel.