The Fatal Oath

The Fatal Oath

By Michael L. Lewis

Format: Paperback

(1 customer review)

Publication Date: 28 Mar 2022


Want to buy as an ebook? Click here

Categories: Crime and Thrillers, Young Adult

ISBN: 9781914471278


The Fatal Oath is the third book in the Oath series. Each book stands alone with separate main themes.

1957. Blackleigh is an elite public school for boys in Yorkshire where prejudice and seething hatreds are never far below the surface. Violence erupts against any Junior who the Seniors deem unfit.

Jonathan Simon is 16, in his third year, and is self-conscious about being Jewish and having a birthmark on his cheek. He knows that: 1) The school code of conduct mandates no snitching, 2) The student Prefects, not the faculty, have absolute power to discipline and 3) Mr. Paul Wood, the temporary Headmaster, is weak and ineffectual.

Jonathan meets Bobby Stuart, an American transfer student, who is also worried about being accepted. Their friendship binds them together as they soon run afoul three ruthless and ambitious Seniors in the House; Gabriel, Murray and Hausman – also known by their fanatic followers as ‘The Black Armbands’.

As the pressure mounts, ambitions grow, friendships become closer and scheming increases. As for Jonathan, the year is only beginning…

Michael L. Lewis was born and raised in England. After preparatory school in London, he was educated at Stowe School, Buckingham. This is the third novel in the Oath series, taking readers on a journey through the lives of three dynamic schoolboys between the ages of 13 and 15, and the extraordinary triumphs and tragedies that they experience. Michael now lives in Los Angeles, California, has a law degree, and writes full-time. He was on the Board of Trustees for several schools and has been a member of the same book club for twenty-five years.


Harry Whiteley (Guest Review) - 03 Apr, 2022

Really enjoyed this the latest book in the English Public School saga. Blackleigh School is no holiday camp! The author, Michael L Lewis has conjoured up a scene of bullying and misery on a grand scale, which concludes the 'Oath" series. Another wonderful read.

Other books by Michael L. Lewis

Related Books