The Man Who Cycled Every Map

The Man Who Cycled Every Map

By Mark Wedgwood

Publication Date: 28 Oct 2024


Available to pre-order.

Categories: Sport and Hobbies, Travel, Autobiography

ISBN: 9781835740767


No adventure takes you everywhere in Britain; but this comes close.

In 2022, Mark Wedgwood uniquely cycled 7,300 miles across all 204 Ordnance Survey Landranger maps in numerically ascending order: a six-month odyssey to every part of Scotland, England, Wales and the Isle of Man.

Ride with Mark to experience the astonishing variety, history, beauty and complexity of Britain and its people. On the way, he visits the most extreme and the most mundane places.

Mark’s curiosity, optimism, nostalgia and sense of humour help us discover pleasant surprises and learn that, even in this crowded land, you can lose yourself in emptiness and enjoy peaceful cycling (and glorious weather!) just about everywhere.

Carefully devised cycling routes introduce lesser-known places, strange anomalies and endearing stories of a country that offers a catalogue of truly uplifting experiences.

We learn about life on the road, including the rituals of eating and drinking, keeping a bicycle going, and encounters with ordinary and extraordinary people.

Mark finds interest in every map and inspires you to explore it yourself.


Mark Wedgwood lives in the beautiful Peak District National Park. After a thirty-year career specialising in global leadership development, diversity and inclusion, and cultural intelligence, he embraced an unexpected early retirement in spring 2021. He now spends much of his time on adventure and travel projects. He is married with a grown-up son and daughter. When not walking, running or cycling, he plays bass with a local rock band.


Looks like there are no reviews for this book yet. Be the first to review "The Man Who Cycled Every Map".

Related Books